Siân Davey – The Garden

Prix Elysée 2023

Editor Photo Elysée
Publication date 2023
Dimensions 16.5 x 24 cm
Number of pages 24
ISBN 978‐2‐88350‐118‐8
Price CHF 9.- book only / CHF 45.- book with a print

"The Garden is a pilgrimage, an intentional act to cultivate a garden that is grounded in love: a reverential offering to humanity. We cleared our long-neglected garden, researched native flowers, soil, biodiversity; sourced organic local seeds, and sowed under the moon cycles, biodynamically. We offered prayers along the way. We invited the pollinators and nature spirits. Luke and I obsessively shared our dreams, our insights and visions. We collected stories from the people we met over the garden wall, which over time came to feel like intimate, confessional space. We invited our ancestors in to support and strengthen our vision."

Extract from Siân Davey – The Garden, Editions Photo Elysée, 2023.

The result of a partnership between Photo Elysée and Parmigiani Fleurier, the Prix Elysée is an award that supports production in the field of photography.

Published by Photo Elysée, eight publications present the projects of the eight nominees of the Prix Elysée 2022-2024: Vincen Beeckman, Debi Cornwall, Siân Davey, Nicolai Howalt, Khashayar Javanmardi, Alice Mann, Gloria Oyarzabal and Virginie Rebetez. Designed by the designer Ramon Pez and printed by L'Artiere Edizioni in Bologna, each of these booklets promotes the work in progress for the Prix Elysée and offers an original entry into the personal world of the eight photographers.

You may also like

Vincen Beeckman – Jump the Wall

"For Jump the Wall, Vincen went to several Belgian prisons – where you cannot photograph the buildings nor the people, and where the spontaneity of encounters does not exist. It is after all easy to understand the attraction of this impossible place, and why Vincen wanted to carry out a collaborativ...
See detail →

Martin Kollar

For several months, Martin Kollar roamed the roads of Europe and searched through his personal archives to bring together in a rich corpus his idea of the provisional – a difficult subject to address visually. Nevertheless, Kollar didn’t waver and, with Provisional Arrangement, offers us around thir...
See detail →

The Nominees' Book 2021

Published by Photo Elysée, this book presents the nominees' projects of the fourth edition of the Prix Elysée. Alexa Brunet, the duo Arguiñe Escandón and Yann Gross, Magali Koenig, Thomas Mailaender, Moises Saman, Assaf Shoshan, Alys Tomlinson and Kurt Tong were selected by the museum from among mor...
See detail →

Siân Davey – The Garden

Prix Elysée 2023

Éditeur Photo Elysée
Date de parution 2023
Dimensions 16.5 x 24 cm
Nombre de pages 24
ISBN 978‐2‐88350‐118‐8
Prix CHF 9.- livret seul / CHF 45.- livret avec tirage

"The Garden est un pèlerinage, un acte intentionnel visant à cultiver un jardin fondé sur l’amour : une offrande révérencieuse à l’humanité. Nous avons débroussaillé notre jardin longtemps négligé, fait des recherches sur les fleurs indigènes, le sol, la biodiversité ; nous nous sommes procuré des graines biologiques locales et avons semé à chaque cycle de lune, en biodynamie. Nous avons offert quelques prières, en cours de route. Nous avons invité les pollinisateurs et invoqué les esprits de la nature. De manière obsessionnelle, Luke et moi avons partagé nos rêves, nos intuitions et nos visions. Nous avons recueilli les histoires des personnes rencontrées de l’autre côté du mur du jardin, qui, avec le temps, s’est mué en un espace intime et confessionnel. Nous avons invité nos ancêtres pour souvenir et renforcer notre vision."

Extrait du Siân Davey – The Garden, Éditions Photo Elysée, 2023.

Résultat d’un partenariat entre Photo Elysée et Parmigiani Fleurier, le Prix Elysée est un prix de soutien à la production dans le domaine de la photographie.

Publiés par Photo Elysée, huit livrets présentent individuellement les projets des huit nominé·e·s du Prix Elysée 2022-2024 : Vincen Beeckman, Debi Cornwall, Siân Davey, Nicolai Howalt, Khashayar Javanmardi, Alice Mann, Gloria Oyarzabal et Virginie Rebetez. Permettant de promouvoir le travail en cours de réalisation dans le cadre du Prix Elysée, chacun de ces livrets réalisé par le designer Ramon Pez et imprimé par L’Artiere Edizioni à Bologne offre une entrée inédite dans le monde personnel des huit photographes.

En vente à la librairie-boutique mudac Photo Elysée.

Vous aimerez aussi

Alice Mann – The Night is Young

"En Afrique du Sud, la dernière année d’études secondaires est appelée 'matric'. Pour les étudiants, le 'matric ball' annuel revêt une grande importance et constitue un rite de passage très attendu. Malgré la diversité des origines culturelles et socio-économiques des étudiants sud-africains, pour e...
Voir le détail →

Livre des nominés 2019

Publié par Photo Elysée, ce livre présente les projets des huit nominé·e·s de la troisième édition du Prix Elysée : Laia Abril, Mathieu Asselin, Claude Baechtold, Alexandra Catière, Alinka Echeverría, Gregory Halpern, Nicola Lo Calzo et Luis Carlos Tovar ont été sélectionné·e·s par le musée parmi pl...
Voir le détail →

Livre des nominés 2017

Publié par Photo Elysée en collaboration avec Éditions Photosynthèses à Arles, ce livre présente les projets des huit nominé·e·s de la deuxième édition du Prix Elysée. Isabelle Blanc & Olivier Hilaire, Elina Brotherus, Matthias Bruggmann, David Jiménez, Sofie Knijff, Jim Naughten, Emeka Okereke ...
Voir le détail →