Deborah Turbeville

Photocollage

Editor Thames & Hudson
Publication date 2023
Dimensions 25,5 x 30 cm
Number of pages 240
ISBN 978-0-500-02621-2
Price CHF 64.-

The unique photographic work of Deborah Turbeville positions her as a major figure since her beginnings in the 1970s. Her work defies classification. Her images are difficult to date at first glance; they seem imbued with a dreamlike atmosphere. Turbeville stands out from her male contemporaries, whose sharply styled and highly sexualized photographs of women now seem anchored in their time, unlike Turbeville's timeless representation of beauty.

This book focuses on a practice that makes Turbeville's work so unique: photocollage. Unlike her contemporaries in fashion photography, she approached her images with a deliberately playful intention: photocopying, cutting, scratching, assembling prints, writing in the margins, and creating narrative sequences. Her work transcends simple smooth images to occupy an intermediate zone between art and commerce.

Based on in-depth research in Deborah Turbeville's archives, the work presented covers commercial and personal projects, including many images published for the first time. With texts by Vince Aletti, Anna Tellgren, and Felix Hoffmann, this book highlights how Turbeville redefined fashion photography by moving away from sexual provocation and stereotypes imposed by male photographers, and by proposing an idea of femininity on her own terms. Today, Deborah Turbeville: Photocollage is an essential publication for all those passionate about fashion photography.

You may also like

reGeneration3

Supervised by Anne Lacoste and Lydia Dorner reGeneration3 brings together fifty artists with twenty-five different nationalities, representing some forty art institutions. Their work is distinguished by their multidisciplinarity, ranging from printing and photographic series, artists’ books, multim...
See detail →

Charlie Chaplin

The catalog of the exclusive exhibition proposed by the museum, co-produced and hosted in 2018 by the Yuz Museum Shanghai, offers a major retrospective on the master of cinematic comedy through posters, photographs and archival documents, from the actor's London childhood to his exile in Switzerland...
See detail →

Deborah Turbeville

Photocollage

Éditeur Thames & Hudson
Date de parution 2023
Dimensions 25,5 x 30 cm
Nombre de pages 240
ISBN 978-0-500-02621-2
Prix CHF 64.-

Le travail photographique unique de Deborah Turbeville la positionne comme une figure majeure depuis ses débuts dans les années 1970. Son œuvre défie toute classification. Ses images sont difficiles à dater au premier regard ; elles semblent empreintes d’une atmosphère onirique. Turbeville se démarque de ses contemporains masculins, dont les photographies de femmes au style tranchant et hautement sexualisées semblent aujourd'hui ancrées dans leur époque, contrairement à la représentation intemporelle de la beauté chez Turbeville.

Ce livre met l’accent sur une pratique qui rend l’oeuvre de Turbeville si singulière : le photocollage. À la différence de ses contemporains en photographie de mode, elle approchait ses images avec une intention délibérément ludique : photocopier, découper, gratter, assembler des tirages, écrire dans les marges et créer des séquences narratives. Son travail transcende les simples images lisses pour occuper une zone intermédiaire entre l'art et le commerce.

Basé sur une recherche approfondie dans les archives de Deborah Turbeville, le travail présenté couvre des projets commerciaux et personnels, incluant de nombreuses images publiées pour la première fois. Avec des textes de Vince Aletti, Anna Tellgren et Felix Hoffmann, ce livre met en lumière la manière dont Turbeville a redéfini la photographie de mode en s'éloignant de la provocation sexuelle et des stéréotypes imposés par les photographes masculins, et en proposant une idée de féminité selon ses propres termes. Aujourd’hui, Deborah Turbeville : Photocollage constitue une publication essentielle pour toutes celles et ceux passionné.e.s par la photographie de mode.

Vous aimerez aussi

Josef Koudelka. Ikonar

Ikonar est le surnom donné à Josef Koudelka par un groupe de Roms qu’il a rencontré lors de ses voyages. Ils l’avaient nommé ainsi, le "faiseur d’icônes", parce qu’ils utilisaient ses célèbres photographies de communautés roms comme icônes quasi religieuses dans leur lieu de prière. Bien qu’étant un...
Voir le détail →

Charlie Chaplin

Le catalogue de l’exposition exclusive proposée par le musée, coproduite et accueillie en 2018 par le Yuz Museum Shanghai, offre une grande rétrospective sur le maître de la comédie cinématographique aux travers d’affiches, de photographies et documents d’archives, depuis l’enfance londonienne de l’...
Voir le détail →