Charlie Chaplin

A Vision

Editor Musée de l’Elysée / Yuz Museum Shanghai / Shanghai People’s Fine Arts Publishing House
Publication date 2019
Dimensions 21 x 29 cm
Number of pages 422 pages
ISBN 978-7-5586-1372-2

The catalog of the exclusive exhibition proposed by the museum, co-produced and hosted in 2018 by the Yuz Museum Shanghai, offers a major retrospective on the master of cinematic comedy through posters, photographs and archival documents, from the actor's London childhood to his exile in Switzerland, as well as an essay on the reception of Charlie Chaplin in Asia between 1919 and 2013.

Edited by Cecilia Cenciarelli, Tatyana Franck and Carole Sandrin, with contributions from Kate Guyonvarch and Zhiwei Xiao

You may also like

reGeneration3

Supervised by Anne Lacoste and Lydia Dorner reGeneration3 brings together fifty artists with twenty-five different nationalities, representing some forty art institutions. Their work is distinguished by their multidisciplinarity, ranging from printing and photographic series, artists’ books, multim...
See detail →

Deborah Turbeville

The unique photographic work of Deborah Turbeville positions her as a major figure since her beginnings in the 1970s. Her work defies classification. Her images are difficult to date at first glance; they seem imbued with a dreamlike atmosphere. Turbeville stands out from her male contemporaries, wh...
See detail →

Josef Koudelka. Ikonar

Ikonar is the nickname given to Josef Koudelka by a group of Roma he encountered on his travels. They refer to him as a "maker of icons" because they used his famous photographs of Roma communities as quasi-religious icons in their place of prayer. Koudelka being a globally respected "maker of photo...
See detail →

Charlie Chaplin

A Vision

Éditeur Musée de l’Elysée / Yuz Museum Shanghai / Shanghai People’s Fine Arts Publishing House
Date de parution 2019
Dimensions 21 x 29 cm
Nombre de pages 422 pages
ISBN 978-7-5586-1372-2

Le catalogue de l’exposition exclusive proposée par le musée, coproduite et accueillie en 2018 par le Yuz Museum Shanghai, offre une grande rétrospective sur le maître de la comédie cinématographique aux travers d’affiches, de photographies et documents d’archives, depuis l’enfance londonienne de l’acteur à son exil en Suisse, ainsi qu’un essai sur la réception de Charlie Chaplin en Asie entre 1919 et 2013.

Sous la direction de Cecilia Cenciarelli, Tatyana Franck et Carole Sandrin, avec les contributions de Kate Guyonvarch et Zhiwei Xiao

Vous aimerez aussi

reGeneration3

Sous la direction d’Anne Lacoste et Lydia Dorner reGeneration3 réunit cinquante artistes de vingt-cinq nationalités représentant une quarantaine d’institutions. Leurs œuvres se distinguent par leur multidisciplinarité, depuis les tirages ou séries photographiques, livres d’artistes, installations mu...
Voir le détail →

Deborah Turbeville

Le travail photographique unique de Deborah Turbeville la positionne comme une figure majeure depuis ses débuts dans les années 1970. Son œuvre défie toute classification. Ses images sont difficiles à dater au premier regard ; elles semblent empreintes d’une atmosphère onirique. Turbeville se démarq...
Voir le détail →

Josef Koudelka. Ikonar

Ikonar est le surnom donné à Josef Koudelka par un groupe de Roms qu’il a rencontré lors de ses voyages. Ils l’avaient nommé ainsi, le "faiseur d’icônes", parce qu’ils utilisaient ses célèbres photographies de communautés roms comme icônes quasi religieuses dans leur lieu de prière. Bien qu’étant un...
Voir le détail →