Photo Elysée – Collection

Since 2016, Photo Elysée, Editions Noir sur Blanc and Editions Scheidegger & Spiess have been co-publishing a collection of catalogs of the museum’s exhibitions. Since 2019, this collection is exclusively dedicated to exhibition catalogs produced from the Photo Elysée collections. The coherent and distinctive graphic identity of the collection provides a valuable setting for each work, whether thematic or monographic.

René Burri

René Burri, Explosions of Sight provides never-before- seen insights into the worldfamous Magnum photo journalist’s life and work. Beyond the iconic images that gained him international renown, the many different facets of René Burri’s oeuvre are represented here: black-and-white and colour photogra...
See detail → See the store

Jan Groover, photographer

"Formalism is everything": Jan Groover's statement alone sums up the plastic ambition of a work that today embodies one of the key moments in the history of photography and the genre of still life. Conducted through constant and varied experimentation, his research focused on forms and their abilit...
See detail →

The Beauty of lines

Over the course of four decades, Sondra Gilman and Celso Gonzalez-Falla have put together a collection of photographs that is widely recognized as among the World's most important private ones. Spanning the entire history of the medium, it lacks hardly any of the names that forged his history. It c...
See detail →

Slides

Although the history of photography was built around the question of printing, photographic projection developed significantly from the last third of the nineteenth century, particularly in the tradition of magic lantern shows. Long limited to the field of education, to public lectures and to popul...
See detail →

Vertical No Limit

The book presents 150 photographs mainly taken from the museum’s collections, illustrating the directions in which mountain photography has developed (science, tourism, mountaineering, art), as well as the formal aspects used by photographers from 1840 to the present (frontality, verticality and l...
See detail →

Wojciech Zamecznik

The artist Wojciech Zamecznik (1923–1967) was an influential figure on the postwar Polish art scene. He is famous for his numerous posters, and his sphere of activity covered publishing, music, cinema and exhibition design. Zamecznik was a pioneer in combining photography with graphic art. The cat...
See detail →

The Memory of the Future

The second volume in the “Collection - Photo Elysée” illustrates the rich diversity of photographic techniques, showcasing Photo Elysée’s collections. Tatyana Franck conducts two interviews, one with Anne Cartier-Bresson, enabling the reader to retrace the history of photographic processes and und...
See detail →

Werner Bischof

Helvetica is the first volume in the new “Collection – Photo Elysée”, and illustrates Werner Bischof’s Swiss work. The previously-unpublished contact sheets he produced between 1932 and 1945 give an understanding of his taste for abstraction and form. Moving from fashion to landscape, from nudes to ...
See detail →

Collection – Photo Elysée

Depuis 2016, Photo Elysée, les éditions Noir sur Blanc et les éditions Scheidegger & Spiess coéditent une collection de catalogues des expositions du musée. Depuis 2019, cette collection est exclusivement dédiée aux catalogues d’expositions réalisées à partir du fonds de Photo Elysée. L’identité graphique cohérente et distinctive de la collection offre un écrin valorisant à chaque ouvrage, qu’il soit thématique ou monographique.

René Burri

«René Burri, l’explosion du regard dévoile des pans inédits de la vie et de l’œuvre de l’un des photoreporters les plus réputés de Magnum Photos.Au-delà des images iconiques qui l’ont rendu célèbre dans le monde entier, les multiples pratiques de René Burri sont pour la première fois mises en perspe...
Voir le détail →

Jan Groover, photographe

« Le formalisme, c’est l’essentiel. » La déclaration de Jan Groover résume à elle seule l’ambition plastique de son œuvre, qui incarne aujourd’hui l’un des moments phares de l’histoire de la photographie et du genre de la nature morte. Menée au gré d’une expérimentation constante et variée, la reche...
Voir le détail →

La Beauté des lignes

La Beauté des lignes présente une sélection de chefs-d’œuvre de l’histoire de la photographie issus de la collection de Sondra Gilman et Celso Gonzalez-Falla, constituée de plus de 1500 tirages originaux des plus grands photographes des XXe et XXIe siècles et basée à New York. Par des confrontations...
Voir le détail →

Diapositive

Si l’histoire de la photographie s’est construite autour de la question du tirage, la projection photographique a connu un important développement dès le dernier tiers du XIXe siècle. Longtemps restreinte au domaine de l’enseignement, aux conférences publiques et au divertissement populaire, la phot...
Voir le détail →

Sans limite

Sans limite. Photographies de montagne présente 150 photographies en grande partie issues des collections de Photo Elysée, qui permettent de comprendre les directions dans lesquelles s’est développée la photographie de montagne et les aspects formels utilisés par les photographes de 1840 à nos jours...
Voir le détail →

Wojciech Zamecznik

L’artiste Wojciech Zamecznik (1923–1967) est une figure influente de la scène artistique polonaise d’après guerre. Il est célèbre pour ses nombreuses affiches, et son champ d’activité couvre l’édition, la musique, le cinéma et la scénographie d’exposition. Zamecznik fait figure de pionnier dans l’as...
Voir le détail →

La Mémoire du Futur

La Mémoire du Futur présente une sélection d’œuvres de la collection de Photo Elysée, en regard avec des travaux d’artistes contemporains. De la réutilisation des anciens procédés des XIXe et XXe siècles, à la mise en abyme d’œuvres historiques à travers des réinterprétations contemporaines, l’ouvra...
Voir le détail →

Werner Bischof

Helvetica révèle le travail suisse de Bischof, en se basant notamment sur les extraordinaires planches-contacts qu’il a réalisées entre 1933 et 1945, inédites à ce jour. Le choix des planches-contacts et des photographies a été fait à partir des archives du photographe. Il permet de comprendre ses i...
Voir le détail →