Virginie Otth. Pour l'instant.

Editor Photo Elysée, Lausanne et art&fiction, Lausanne
Publication date 2023
Dimensions 18 x 24 cm
Number of pages 108
ISBN ISBN 978-2-88964-069-0
Price CHF 35.00

Capturing the almost-nothing, the everyday, the desire through a gaze. Between oneself and the world: photography as a focus. Is it possible to seize power (in imagery) with affection and gentleness? How to escape the ordinary, the commonplace, and the trivial aspects of the repetition of our actions, our needs, and the landscape?

This book is not an exhibition catalog. One finds in it, alternately and through repetition: the almost-nothings (what is lacking when, at least in appearance, nothing is lacking); the everydayness (each day is different, each day is the same, it's obvious and then not); lakes (a daily practice, a meditation, a protocol); illusions of desire (a subjective, loving, or interested gaze).

This everyday life is material life. Today, it's a plant; tomorrow, it's a sex, a glass of water, a wave, a ray of light. The image in an intimate sense, without any particular brilliance. It is a passage through the diaphragm, omission, emptiness: each day, the impossible catalog of the world.

With texts by David Gagnebin-de Bons and Marie Taillefer.

Virginie Otth is a photographer and visual artist, born in 1971 in Lausanne. She is a graduate of the Vevey School of Photography, a resident at FABRICA (IT), and a scholar of the New York Film Academy. Since the 2000s, she has been teaching photography at CEPV in Vevey and later at the HEAD in Geneva. In recent years, she has been pursuing a personal approach based on the question of "how the image becomes an object," as well as research on visual perception, bridging the gap between the eye and the mind.

You may also like

Deborah Turbeville

The unique photographic work of Deborah Turbeville positions her as a major figure since her beginnings in the 1970s. Her work defies classification. Her images are difficult to date at first glance; they seem imbued with a dreamlike atmosphere. Turbeville stands out from her male contemporaries, wh...
See detail →

Josef Koudelka. Ikonar

Ikonar is the nickname given to Josef Koudelka by a group of Roma he encountered on his travels. They refer to him as a "maker of icons" because they used his famous photographs of Roma communities as quasi-religious icons in their place of prayer. Koudelka being a globally respected "maker of photo...
See detail →

Virginie Otth. Pour l’instant.

Éditeur Photo Elysée, Lausanne et art&fiction, Lausanne
Date de parution 2023
Dimensions 18 x 24 cm
Nombre de pages 108
ISBN ISBN 978-2-88964-069-0
Prix CHF 35.00

Saisir le presque-rien, le quotidien, le désir à travers un regard. Entre soi et le monde : la photographie comme une mise au point. Est-il possible de prendre le pouvoir (en image) avec affection et douceur ? Comment échapper au banal, à l’aspect quelconque et trivial de la répétition de nos gestes, de nos besoins, du paysage ?

Ce livre n’est pas un catalogue d’exposition. On y trouve, en alternance et par répétition : des presque-riens (ce qui manque lorsque, au moins en apparence, il ne manque rien) ; des quotidiennetés (chaque jour est différent, chaque jour est le même, c’est évident et puis finalement pas) ; des lacs (une pratique quotidienne, une méditation, un protocole) ; des illusions du désir (un regard subjectif, amoureux ou intéressé).

Cette vie quotidienne, c’est la vie matérielle. Aujourd’hui, c’est une plante, demain un sexe, un verre d’eau, une vague, un rayon de lumière. L’image au sens intime et sans éclat particulier. C’est une traversée par le diaphragme, l’omission, le vide : à chaque jour, l’impossible catalogue du monde.

Avec des textes de David Gagnebin-de Bons et Marie Taillefer.

Virginie Otth est photographe-plasticienne, née en 1971 à Lausanne. Elle est diplômée de l’École de photographie de Vevey, résidente à FABRICA (IT), boursière de la New York Film Academy. Depuis les années 2000, elle enseigne la photographie au CEPV à Vevey, puis à la HEAD de Genève. Ces dernières années, elle poursuit une démarche personnelle basée sur le questionnement de "comment l’image devient objet", ainsi qu’une recherche sur la perception visuelle, entre l’œil et l’esprit.

Vous aimerez aussi

Debi Cornwall

Au cours de la dernière décennie, Debi Cornwall a exploré les récits façonnant l'image de l'Amérique. Ses photos documentaires en couleur, saisissantes et formellement composées, suscitent la réflexion sur la mise en scène et la normalisation du pouvoir d'état. L'exposition présente deux ensembles d...
Voir le détail →

Charlie Chaplin

Le catalogue de l’exposition exclusive proposée par le musée, coproduite et accueillie en 2018 par le Yuz Museum Shanghai, offre une grande rétrospective sur le maître de la comédie cinématographique aux travers d’affiches, de photographies et documents d’archives, depuis l’enfance londonienne de l’...
Voir le détail →