The museum

Temporary Closure

From September 27, 2020 to June 2022, we are temporarily closed in order to prepare our move to Plateforme 10. The transition period is devoted to the preparation of the new exhibitions, the control, cataloguing and relocation of the collections and archives, but also to the reflection on the new identity, the layout of the offices, workshops and public spaces such as the library, the new bookstore, and the cultural outreach spaces.

Photo Elysée

Photo Elysée is one of the most important museums entirely dedicated to the photographic medium. Each year, we produce demanding exhibitions, distribute reference editorial content, conceive innovative events and offer events open to all.

Since its creation in 1985 as a “museum for photography”, Photo Elysée has been questioning the permanent reinvention of the medium through the great figures who have marked its history by imagining new ways of seeing or making people see, while revealing in a privileged way the emerging photography which, through unseen views, bears witness to the world of today and prefigures that of tomorrow. In other words: to cover all the subjects of photography, to discover them sometimes, and above all to make them rediscovered.

The museum’s collection of more than 1,200,000 phototypes covers the entire field of photography, from the first processes dating from the 1840s to the digital image. It includes many complete photographic collections or archives, including those of Sabine Weiss, Jan Groover, René Burri, Ella Maillart, Nicolas Bouvier, Charlie Chaplin, Gertrude Fehr, Hans Steiner and Olivier Föllmi.

In June 2022, we will reopen our doors in the heart of Plateforme 10, Lausanne’s new arts district, in a building designed by Aires Mateus and shared with the mudac. With a total surface area of nearly 3,800 square meters, our exhibition spaces, whose scenography will be designed by Studio Adrien Gardère, will host, in parallel with temporary exhibitions, a free exhibition of our collections, a public mediation space and the LabElysée, an innovative space for digital experimentation.

Vision

Identity

To assert itself as a “generalist” museum open to all views on photography

  • To present the plurality and diversity of photographic uses, practices and expressions of yesterday and today, making them accessible to all
  • To share with the public our familiarity, our curiosity and our desire for photography
  • To reveal what is emerging today in the field of photography, like a permanent school of the glance opened on the creation, the society and the contemporary reality

To safeguard, conserve, study, develop and make accessible an exceptional photographic heritage

  • To promote and make accessible to all audiences the extent and richness of Photo Elysée’s photographic heritage
  • To develop innovative study and analysis programs on and from this heritage, like a permanent laboratory for the interrogation of the medium
  • To document and make this heritage available to historians and practitioners in order to conduct research projects on photographers, photography and its uses

To offer to all audiences the time to experience photography

  • To install spaces where images can be expressed and illuminated
  • Accompany the visitor and open his or her eyes with our complicity through moments of life, listening and exchange around and about photography
  • To place the spectator as an actor of a sensitive and emancipating experience in front of the photographic creation

To support and encourage photographic creation and share it with all audiences

  • To engage with photographers, to bring to life and share their experiments, their research and their creations
  • To conduct regular campaigns of exploration and photographic prospecting
  • To make all audiences discover the new revolutions of the image and what could become the photography of tomorrow

To initiate places of understanding, analysis and debate on the world

  • To reveal and value the forms of commitment of photographers for facts, causes or subjects, yesterday and today
  • To assert itself as an open and permanent forum on the societal issues of the 21st century
  • To make all audiences aware of the mutations of the world through photography, and of the mutations of photography through its view of the world

Scientific and Cultural Project 2020-2025

The Scientific and Cultural Project (SCP), the result of the work of all the museum’s departments, has embodied the vision of our institution since 2015 . This long-term project aims to synthesize in a single unifying document a historical assessment, the current vision and the new actions to be implemented. It was written in view of our move to Platforme 10.

Values

  • Commitment
  • Curiosity
  • Innovation
  • Accessibility

History

Until its move to Plateforme 10 in June 2022, the museum was housed in an elegant mansion in the area known as the Little Ouchy. It was built between 1780 and 1783 by Henri de Mollins (1729-1811), a Swiss officer serving the Dutch Royal family and a Major of the regiment stationed in Lausanne. Named l’Elysée in 1834, the mansion is located in a splendid park with an exceptional view overlooking the lake. In 1971, the building was bought by the canton of Vaud to be completely restored and in part equipped as a museum. Between 1980 and 1985, it housed the canton of Vaud’s Collection of Prints, later transferred to Vevey following the foundation of the Musée de l’Elysée, as a museum for photography, by Charles-Henri Favrod in October 1985.

Plateforme 10

A new arts district

The reunion of the Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts (MCBA), Photo Elysée and mudac, completed by the Toms Pauli and Félix Vallotton foundations, will form a new 25,000 m² arts district in the heart of the city of Lausanne.

Plateforme 10’s mission is to awaken the curiosity of all audiences by offering them a place to live, a space for discovery, exchange, learning, experimentation, wonder, but also for leisure and contemplation.

The inaugural period of this new arts district will take place from June 18 to September 25, 2022.

Architecture

The project by the Portuguese architects Aires Mateus brings together the complementary nature of the two museums, Photo Elysée and mudac, on either side of the luminous gap that marks the common entrance. A true forum open on all four sides, this entrance hall brings together all the shared functions: ticket office, bookshop, store and cafeteria.

A staircase leads to the Photo Elysée exhibition spaces on the ground floor and to the mudac on the second floor. The exhibition spaces are flexible because they are modular, and allow the presentation of the collections and the scenography of temporary exhibitions to be deployed in a flexible manner. The storage and technical services in the basement will guarantee optimal conservation of the collections, while the administrative spaces surround the central building to the north and west, which is itself entirely devoted to the public.

Elysée Foundation

Created in 1988 to build up a collection of photographs, the Elysée Foundation has been able to finance many ambitious projects in Switzerland and abroad.

 

Foundation Committee

Jean-Claude Falciola | President

Members
Sylvie Buhagiar
Eliane Chappuis
François Kaiser
Nicole Minder
Camilla Rochat
Julie Wynne

Passerelle culturelle

Photo Elysée, in partnership with the Institution de Lavigny, is currently offering training tailored to the needs of young people from special education programs who have an interest in culture and display particular skills that call for an unconventional study path. Passerelle Culturelle allows young people to join public or private cultural institutions, to discover their interests and develop a concrete career plan.

Das Museum

Photo Elysée ist eines der bedeutendsten, ganz dem Medium Fotografie gewidmeten Museen. Jedes Jahr zeigen wir hochwertige Ausstellungen, veröffentlichen viel beachtete redaktionelle Inhalte, konzipieren innovative Veranstaltungen und führen Events für alle durch.

Photo Elysée

Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1985 als „Museum für Fotografie“ hinterfragt Photo Elysée die ständige Neuerfindung des Mediums anhand der grossen Figuren, die seine Geschichte geprägt haben, indem es sich neue Arten des Sehens oder des Gesehenwerdens vorstellt. Gleichzeitig bietet es eine Plattform für die aufstrebende Fotografie, die durch unveröffentlichte Blicke von der heutigen Welt zeugt und die Welt von morgen vorwegnimmt. Mit anderen Worten: alle Themen der Fotografie abdecken, sie manchmal entdecken, vor allem aber wiederentdecken lassen.

Die Sammlung des Museums mit über 1’200’000 Fototypen umfasst das gesamte Feld der Fotografie von den ersten Verfahren aus den 1840er-Jahren bis hin zum digitalen Bild. Sie umfasst zahlreiche fotografische Nachlässe und umfassende Archive, darunter diejenigen von Sabine Weiss, Jan Groover, René Burri, Ella Maillart, Nicolas Bouvier, Charlie Chaplin, Gertrude Fehr, Hans Steiner und Olivier Föllmi.

Im Juni 2022 werden wir im Herzen der Plateforme 10, dem neuen Kunstquartier von Lausanne, in einem von den portugiesischen Architekten Aires Mateus entworfenen und mit dem mudac geteilten Gebäude unsere Türen wieder öffnen. Auf einer Gesamtfläche von fast 3‘800 Quadratmetern werden unsere Ausstellungsräume, deren Szenografie vom Studio Adrien Gardère entworfen wird, nebst den Wechselausstellungen eine kostenlose Ausstellung unserer Sammlungen, einen frei zugänglichen Begegnungsraum und das Lab Elysée, einen innovativen Raum für digitale Experimente, beherbergen.

Leitbild

Über uns 

Sich als „generalistisches“ Museum behaupten, das für alle Sichtweisen aller Fotografien offen ist

  • Die Pluralität und Vielfalt der fotografischen Anwendungen, Praktiken und Ausdrucksformen von gestern und heute präsentieren und sie für alle zugänglich machen
  • Unsere Vertrautheit, Neugier und Lust auf Fotografie mit dem Publikum teilen
  • Aufzeigen, was heute im Bereich der Fotografie entsteht, wie eine permanente Schule des offenen Blicks für das zeitgenössische Schaffen, die Gesellschaft und die Realität

Schützen, Bewahren, Erforschen, Aufwerten und Zugänglichmachen eines aussergewöhnlichen fotografischen Kulturguts

  • Den Umfang und Reichtum des fotografischen Kulturguts von Photo Elysée aufwerten und für alle Bevölkerungsgruppen zugänglich machen
  • Entwickeln von innovativen Studien- und Analyseprogrammen zu und aus diesem Erbe, ähnlich einem permanenten Labor zur Befragung des Mediums
  • Dieses Erbe dokumentieren und Historiker:innen und Praktiker:innen zur Verfügung stellen, um Forschungsprojekte über Fotograf:innen, Fotografie und ihre Verwendung durchzuführen.

Allen Menschen Zeit für eine Erfahrung mit der Fotografie bieten

  • Räume einrichten, in denen die Bilder zum Ausdruck kommen und leuchten können
  • Den/die Besucher:in begleiten und mit unserer Hilfe seinen/ihren Blick durch Momente des Lebens, des Zuhörens und des Austauschs um und über die Fotografie öffnen
  • Den/die Zuschauer:in als Akteur:in einer sensiblen und emanzipatorischen Erfahrung im Umgang mit dem fotografischen Schaffen platzieren.

Das fotografische Schaffen unterstützen und fördern und es allen Bevölkerungsgruppen zugänglich machen

  • Sich für Fotograf:innen einsetzen, ihre Experimente, Recherchen und Kreationen lebendig werden lassen und mit ihnen teilen
  • Regelmässige Erkundungs- und Fotokampagnen durchführen
  • Allen Menschen die neuen Bildrevolutionen und das, was die Fotografie morgen sein könnte, näher bringen

Orte des Verständnisses, der Analyse und der Debatte über die Welt initiieren

  • Formen des Engagements von Fotograf:innen für Fakten, Ursachen oder Themen in Vergangenheit und Gegenwart aufdecken und würdigen
  • Sich als offenes und ständiges Forum für die gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts etablieren
  • Allen Bersucher:innen die Veränderungen der Welt durch die Fotografie und die Veränderungen der Fotografie durch den Blick auf die Welt bewusst machen

Wissenschaftliches und kulturelles Projekt 2020-2025

Das Wissenschaftliche und Kulturelle Projekt (WKP) ist das Ergebnis der Arbeit aller Abteilungen des Museums und verkörpert seit 2015 das Leitbild unserer Institution. Ziel dieses Langzeitprojekts ist es, in einem einzigen, verbindenden Dokument eine historische Bilanz, das aktuelle Leitbild und neue Aktionen zusammenzufassen. Es wurde im Hinblick auf unseren Umzug in die Plateforme 10 verfasst.

Werte

  • Engagement
  • Sehenswertes
  • Innovation
  • Barrierefreiheit

Geschichte

Bis zu seiner Wiedereröffnung in der Plateforme 10 war das Museum in einem Herrenhaus untergebracht, das zwischen 1780 und 1783 auf den Ländereien von Petit-Ouchy von Henri de Mollins (1729-1811), einem Schweizer Offizier im Dienst der holländischen Krone und Major des Kontingents von Lausanne, erbaut worden war. Das 1834 Maison de l’Elysée getaufte Haus ist von einem weitläufigen Park umgeben und steht an aussergewöhnlicher Lage mit Blick auf den See. 1971 wurde das Haus vom Konton Waadt gekauft, vollständig restauriert und zum Teil als Museum eingerichtet. Zwischen 1980 und 1985 beherbergte es das Cabinet cantonal des estampes (Kantonales Kupferstichkabinett). Dieses wurde nach Vevey ins Jenisch-Museum verlegt, nachdem Charles-Henri Favrod im Oktober 1985 das Musée de l’Elysée, ein Museum für Fotografie, gegründet hat.

Plateforme 10

Ein neues Kunstquartier

Die Vereinigung des Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts (MCBA), von Photo Elysée und mudac, ergänzt durch die Stiftungen Toms Pauli et Félix Vallotton, bildet ein neues Kunstquartier mit einer Fläche von 25’000 m² im Herzen der Stadt Lausanne.

Die Plateforme 10 hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, die Neugier aller Menschen zu wecken, indem sie ihnen einen Ort zum Leben sowie Raum für Entdeckungen, Austausch, Lernen, Experimente, Staunen, aber auch für Freizeit und Kontemplation bietet.

Architektur

Das Projekt der portugiesischen Architekten Aires Mateus vereint auf synthetische Weise die Komplementarität der beiden Museen Photo Elysée und mudac, die auf den beiden Seiten der Lichtfuge, die den gemeinsamen Eingang signalisiert, angeordnet sind. Diese Eingangshalle ist ein echtes, nach allen vier Seiten hin offenes Forum, in dem alle gemeinsam genutzten Funktionen zusammengefasst sind: Empfang, Bookshop und Cafeteria.

Eine zentrale Treppe führt zu den Ausstellungsräumen von Photo Elysée im Erdgeschoss und zum mudac im ersten Stock. Die Ausstellungsräume sind modulierbar und ermöglichen es, die Präsentation der Sammlungen und die Szenografie für temporäre Ausstellungen flexibel zu gestalten. Die Lager und die technischen Dienste im Untergeschoss werden eine optimale Aufbewahrung der Sammlungen gewährleisten. Die Verwaltungsräume umgeben im Norden und Westen das zentrale Gebäude, das vollständig für die Besucher:innen zugänglich ist.

Die Fondation de l'Elysée

Die 1988 zum Aufbau einer Fotosammlung gegründete Fondation de l’Elysée konnte zahlreiche ehrgeizige Projekte in der Schweiz und im Ausland finanzieren.

Stiftungsrat

Jean-Claude Falciola | Präsident

Mitglieder
Sylvie Buhagiar
Eliane Chappuis
François Kaiser
Nicole Minder
Camilla Rochat
Julie Wynne

Passerelle culturelle

Photo Elysée bietet in Zusammenarbeit mit der Institution de Lavigny eine massgeschneiderte Ausbildung für Jugendliche aus Sonderschulprogrammen an, die ein Interesse an Kultur haben und über besondere Fähigkeiten verfügen, die sich nicht in Standardprogramme einordnen lassen. Passerelle culturelle ermöglicht es diesen Jugendlichen, in öffentliche oder private Strukturen mit kultureller Ausrichtung einzutreten, ihre Interessen zu entdecken und ein konkretes berufliches Projekt zu entwickeln.