The Nominees' Book 2021

Editor Photo Elysée and Scheidegger & Spiess
Publication date 2021
Dimensions 23.5 x 32 cm
Number of pages 152
ISBN 978-3-03942-013-1
Price CHF 36.-

Published by Photo Elysée, this book presents the nominees' projects of the fourth edition of the Prix Elysée. Alexa Brunet, the duo Arguiñe Escandón and Yann Gross, Magali Koenig, Thomas Mailaender, Moises Saman, Assaf Shoshan, Alys Tomlinson and Kurt Tong were selected by the museum from among more than 255 candidates from all over the world. They each received a contribution of CHF 5,000 and were given carte blanche to launch a new project, the initial results of which are brought together in this collective publication.

Each nominee of the Prix Elysée 2021 offers the reader an unprecedented immersion in a work in progress. Involving notes of intent, first drafts, photographic studies and sometimes sketches of the dream publication, the eight projects take shape according to the singularity of their respective authors at a decisive stage of their professional career, that of mid-career.

Under the direction of Tatyana Franck. Interviews conducted by Lydia Dorner.

You may also like

Kurt Tong

Following in the footsteps of a man named Franklin Lung, the book immerses the reader in the history of the Chinese diaspora, from the fall of the Middle Kingdom in 1912 until the 1950s. Through vintage images, press clippings, letters - correspondence between two fiancés - and photographs, artist K...
See detail →

Khashayar Javanmardi – See the Caspian

"As a child, Khashayar Javanmardi counted down the days until he would go to the Caspian Sea to enjoy endless swimming. As a teenager, his first choice for a solo trip was immediately this beautiful blue sea. Later, all his romantic memories took place on the Caspian shorelines. Today, after years o...
See detail →

The Nominees' Book 2017

Published by Photo Elysée in partnership with Editions Photosynthèses in Arles, this book presents the projects of the eight nominees of the second edition of the Prix Elysée. Isabelle Blanc & Olivier Hilaire, Elina Brotherus, Matthias Bruggmann, David Jiménez, Sofie Knijff, Jim Naughten, Emeka ...
See detail →