#Ukraine

Images of war
17.11.2022 – 29.01.2023
LabElysée
Book this ticket

The conflict in Ukraine has received unprecedented visual and media coverage. Many reporters are actively working in the field to make their images accessible to the public. In addition to artists who use photography as their means of expression, inhabitants, civilians and soldiers also produce and share images that they post daily on different platforms. A tiny part of this production reaches us through our contacts, social networks, and the media.

In everyday life, propaganda, journalism, or artistic production, photography is an essential part of this conflict. From the very beginning, we have seen state-of-the-art media campaigns, perfectly mastering the codes of digital communication. Their creators know how to take advantage of the different online networks to export the war effort. These uninhibited campaigns are also encouragement to create and share without restraint. These extraordinarily creative visual narratives invade our space, to the extent that we can wonder if press images still dominate our representations of events. The images circulating by electronic messaging and on the networks, whether produced by amateurs or professionals, offer a plethora of contrasting views. We must therefore ask ourselves whether this profusion of images is just noise or, on the contrary, whether it contributes to establishing the facts.

At a time when the American Vogue sends a famous photographer to do a photoshoot of the Ukrainian presidential couple, the conflict is also becoming a stage for experimentation with images. New practices are appearing in the margins. Among them, photogrammetry and tokenization are becoming more accessible. Three-dimensional reconstructions of ruins can be found on mainstream 3D hosting sites, while images are also sold as NFTs on the marketplace.

From documentaries to social networks, and including the art scene, Photo Elysée wishes to examine the approaches and to question the complexity of the images produced in this context.

Artists

Eric Bouvet (FR)
Lisa Bukreyeva (UA)
Igor Chekachkov (UA)
Maxim Dondyuk (UA)
Rafał Milach (PL)
Anton Shebetko (UA)
Michel Slomka (FR)
Elena Subach (UA)

Bibliography

A selection of recent publications is presented in the exhibition. The majority of them have been published in the last few months and deal in one way or another with the conflict. The list of titles evolves according to the new publications we receive.

  • soлomiya N° 1, self-published, 2022 (ISBN: 9783000725821)
  • Mishka Henner, Putin’s Prison, self-published, 2022
  • Ruslan Hrushchak, Iryna Tsilyk, The Road Beyond, Kominek Books, Berlin 2022 (ISBN: 9783981982497)
  • Mark Neville, Stop tanks with books, Nazraeli Press, 2022 (ISBN: 9781590055861)
  • Yelena Yemchuk, УYY, Départ pour l'image, 2022 (ISBN: 9788894462258)
  • Guillaume Herbaut, Ukraine, terre désirée, Editions Textuel, 2022 (ISBN : 9782845979260)
  • Eric Bouvet, Journal d'Ukraine, Self-published, 2022
  • Météore 11, LargeNetwork, 13 juin 2022
  • Émeric Lhuisset, Maydan - Hundred Portraits, Ydoc / Paradox, André Frère Editions, 2014 (ISBN 9789081887632)
  • Émeric Lhuisset, Ukraine – Hundred Hidden Faces, Civilians up in Arms, Ydoc / Paradox, André Frère Editions, 2022 (ISBN : 9789082870855)
  • Andy Rocchelli, UKRAINA REVOLUTION III, Cesura Publishing, 2022
  • Elena Subach, Hidden / CXOBAHE, Besides Press, 2022

Partners

The LabElysée gets the support from the BNP Paribas Suisse Foundation and the Federal Office of Culture (FOC).

#Ukraine

Bilder des Krieges
17.11.2022 – 29.01.2023
LabElysée
Dieses Ticket buchen

Dem Konflikt in der Ukraine kommt eine nie dagewesene Bildpräsenz und Medienaufmerksamkeit zu. Zahlreiche Reporter*innen reisen an Ort und Stelle, um von dort ihre Bilder in die Welt zu schicken. Neben den mit Fotografie arbeitenden Künstler*innen machen und verbreiten auch die vor Ort lebenden Menschen, Zivilist*innen und Soldaten Bilder, die sie täglich auf verschiedenen Plattformen posten. Ein winziger Teil dieser Produktion dringt durch unsere Kontakte, die sozialen Netzwerke oder die Medien auch bis zu uns vor. Die Fotografie ist für Alltagsleben, Propaganda, Journalismus und künstlerische Produktion eine zentrale Konstante dieses Konflikts.

Seit den ersten Stunden wohnen wir hochgradig gesteuerten Medienkampagnen bei, die geschickt mit den Codes des digitalen Universums arbeiten. Die Verantwortlichen wissen genau, wie man die verschiedenen Onlinenetzwerke dazu benutzt, Kriegsanstrengungen zu exportieren. Diese enthemmten Kampagnen fordern uns auf, Inhalte zu erstellen und sie uneingeschränkt zu teilen. Die visuellen Narrative fluten den Raum und stellen dabei eine grenzenlose Kreativität unter Beweis - und zwar in einem solchen Masse, dass man sich fragen muss, ob es eigentlich noch Pressebilder (und nicht längst andere Fotos) sind, die unsere Vorstellung von den Ereignissen bestimmen. Die in Nachrichten und Netzwerken kursierenden Bilder, die von Amateuren oder Profis aufgenommen sein können, bieten zahlreiche Möglichkeiten, die Dinge doch wieder anders zu sehen. Von daher steht die Überlegung im Raum, ob diese Bilderflut wie Lärm stört oder ob sie doch dazu beitragen könnte, Fakten zu sichern.

Zu einer Zeit, in der die US-amerikanische Ausgabe der Vogue eine namhafte Fotografin losschickt, um das ukrainische Präsidentenpaar zu porträtieren, wird der Konflikt auch zu einem Terrain für Bildexperimente. Neue, zunächst randständige Praktiken setzen sich durch. Zu ihnen gehören die sich verbreitende Fotogrammetrie und die Tokenisierung. Dreidimensionale Rekonstruktionen werden auf 3D-Servern der Allgemeinheit zugänglich. Die Bilder verkaufen sich als NFT auf dem breiten Markt.

Photo Elysée will diese Ansätze, von der Dokumentarfotografie über die Kunstszene bis hin zu den sozialen Netzwerken, einander gegenüberstellen und die Vielschichtigkeit der in diesem Zusammenhang produzierten Bilder beleuchten.

Künstler:innen

Eric Bouvet (FR)
Lisa Bukreyeva (UA)
Igor Chekachkov (UA)
Maxim Dondyuk (UA)
Rafał Milach (PL)
Anton Shebetko (UA)
Michel Slomka (FR)
Elena Subach (UA)

Bibliographie

In der Ausstellung wird eine Auswahl neuerer Publikationen vorgestellt. Die meisten Bücher wurden in den letzten Monaten veröffentlicht und beschäftigen sich in der einen oder anderen Weise mit dem Konflikt. Die Liste der Titel ändert sich je nach den Neuerscheinungen, die wir erhalten.

  • soлomiya N° 1, self-published, 2022 (ISBN: 9783000725821)
  • Mishka Henner, Putin’s Prison, self-published, 2022
  • Ruslan Hrushchak, Iryna Tsilyk, The Road Beyond, Kominek Books, Berlin 2022 (ISBN: 9783981982497)
  • Mark Neville, Stop tanks with books, Nazraeli Press, 2022 (ISBN: 9781590055861)
  • Yelena Yemchuk, УYY, Départ pour l’image, 2022 (ISBN: 9788894462258)
  • Guillaume Herbaut, Ukraine, terre désirée, Editions Textuel, 2022 (ISBN : 9782845979260)
  • Eric Bouvet, Journal d’Ukraine, Self-published, 2022
  • Météore 11, LargeNetwork, 13 juin 2022
  • Émeric Lhuisset, Maydan – Hundred Portraits, Ydoc / Paradox, André Frère Editions, 2014 (ISBN 9789081887632)
  • Émeric Lhuisset, Ukraine – Hundred Hidden Faces, Civilians up in Arms, Ydoc / Paradox, André Frère Editions, 2022 (ISBN : 9789082870855)
  • Andy Rocchelli, UKRAINA REVOLUTION III, Cesura Publishing, 2022
  • Elena Subach, Hidden / CXOBAHE, Besides Press, 2022

Partner

Das LabElysée wird großzügig unterstützt von der Stiftung BNP Paribas Schweiz und dem Bundesamt für Kultur (BAK).