Gabriel Lippmann

COLOR PHOTOGRAPHY
03.03 – 21.05.2023
Book this ticket

This exhibition is the culmination of several years of collaborative work by Photo Elysée. It highlights images from the Gabriel Lippmann collection held at the museum and produced using the interferential technique - the color process for which Gabriel Lippmann was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1908. The museum holds the largest collection of plates made by Lippmann himself and gathered in one institution (137 plates out of nearly 300 spread over all continents).

Given the complexity of the Lippmann plates, at the crossroads of several disciplines, encounters took place between researchers from different horizons, notably from the LCAV of the EPFL, as well as from the Sorbonne University. The Lippmann plate also allows us to appreciate the material and technical complexity of photography, sometimes overlooked or forgotten in our digital age.

The exhibition is divided into three themes that cover the major fields of research of which the Lippmann plate is part: the Lippmann plate as a museum object, or the importance of the visual experience; the Lippmann plate as a scientific object, or the importance of the process; and, finally, the Lippmann plate as an object of art history, or the importance of the image. The exhibition has also made it possible to initiate a project for a catalogue raisonné of the Lippmann plates, which will be carried out in parallel at a later date (2025- 2026).

Credits

Curator

Pauline Martin

Scientific advisors

Manuel Sigrist, Nathalie Boulouch, Jean-Marc Fournier, Tatyana Franck, Martin Vetterli

A collaboration with the EPFL

To better understand the complexity of interference photography, Photo Elysée joined forces with the AudioVisual Communications Laboratory (LCAV) of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne (EPFL). This partnership not only allowed us to study the process, but also to explain it and present it to the public in an innovative way.

In this exhibition, the display cases in which the plates are presented required research at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne (EPFL) to create a unique lighting system, adapted to the observation of each original image.

Observing a Lippmann plate is most often a solitary experience: the object can only be seen well by one person at a time. In his time, Gabriel Lippmann made projections, allowing a large audience to see the same image at the same time and to agree on the perceived colors. With the help of the EPFL, we were able to recreate such a projection using contemporary plates that the EPFL's research has realized.

Partenaires

The exhibition is generously supported by the Loterie Romande, the BNP Paribas Switzerland Foundation, the H. Dudley Wright Foundation and the Federal Office of Culture.

Related content

Fleurs

Feel an image? Not easy! But with a little imagination, why not? From spectacular country landscapes to warm interiors adorned with magnificent bouquets, the reader follows a facetious parrot who steals all the colors of the flowers. And we laugh to make him a photographic prank!   A poetic and...
See detail →

Gabriel Lippmann

DIE FOTOGRAFIE DER FARBEN
03.03 – 21.05.2023
Dieses Ticket buchen

Als Ergebnis einer Zusammenarbeit, die Photo Elysée seit einigen Jahren führt, macht diese Ausstellung auf Bilder aufmerksam, die aus dem im Museum aufbewahrten Fonds Gabriel Lippmann stammen und mittels der Interferenz-Technik (dem sogenannten Lippmann-Verfahren) hergestellt wurden – einem Herstellungsverfahren für Farbbilder, für das Gabriel Lippmann im Jahr 1908 den Nobelpreis für Physik erhielt. Das Museum bewahrt das grösste Ensemble von Platten auf, die von Lippmann selbst angefertigt und in einer Institution gesammelt wurden (d. h. 137 Platten von fast 300 Platten, die über alle Kontinente verteilt sind).

Da es sich bei den Lippmann-Platten um komplexe fotografische Objekte handelt, die am Schnittpunkt mehrerer Disziplinen verortet sind, fanden Begegnungen zwischen Forschern unterschiedlicher Fachbereiche, insbesondere des LCAV des EPFL, aber auch der Sorbonne Université statt. Die Lippmann-Platte erlaubt es auch, die materielle und technische Komplexität der Fotografie wahrzunehmen, die im Zeitalter der vollständigen Digitalisierung bisweilen verkannt oder vergessen wird.

Die Ausstellung ist in drei Schwerpunkte aufgeteilt, die den grossen Forschungsbereichen entsprechen, mit denen die Lippmann-Platten verbunden sind: die Lippmann-Platte als museologisches Objekt oder die Wichtigkeit der visuellen Erfahrung; die Lippmann-Platte als wissenschaftlicher Gegenstand oder die Wichtigkeit des technischen Verfahrens und schliesslich die Lippmann-Platte als Gegenstand der Kunstgeschichte oder die Wichtigkeit des Bildes. Die Ausstellung ist Teil eines grösserem Forschungsprojektes mit dem Ziel, einen Catalogue raisonné der Lippmann-Platten zu initiieren, das parallel durchgeführt wird und längerfristig angelegt ist (2025–2026).

Credits

KURATORIN

Pauline Martin

WISSENSCHAFTLICHER BERATER*INNEN

Manuel Sigrist, Nathalie Boulouch, Jean-Marc Fournier, Tatyana Franck, Martin Vetterli

Eine Kollaboration mit der EPFL

Um die Komplexität der Interferenzfotografie zu verstehen hat sich Photo Elysée mit dem AudioVisual Communications Laboratory (LCAV) der Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Lausanne (EPFL) zusammengetan. Diese Partnerschaft ermöglichte es nicht nur, das Prozess zu erforschen, sondern auch, es auf innovative Weise zu erklären und das Publikum vorzustellen.

Die Vitrinen, in denen die Platten in dieser Ausstellung präsentiert werden, erforderten Forschungsarbeiten an der Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Lausanne (EPFL), um ein einzigartiges Beleuchtungssystem zu schaffen, das für die Betrachtung jedes einzelnen Originalbildes geeignet ist.

Die Betrachtung einer Lippmann-Plakette ist meist eine einsame Erfahrung: Das Objekt kann jeweils nur von einer Person gut gesehen werden. Zu seiner Zeit führte Gabriel Lippmann Projektionen durch und ermöglichte es so einem großen Publikum, das gleiche Bild zur gleichen Zeit zu sehen und sich auf die wahrgenommenen Farben zu einigen. Mit Hilfe der EPFL konnten wir eine solche Projektion nachstellen, indem wir zeitgenössische Platten verwendeten, die dank der Forschung an der EPFL hergestellt werden konnten.

Partner

Die Ausstellung wird grosszügig unterstützt von der Loterie Romande, der BNP Paribas Schweiz Stiftung, der H. Dudley Wright Foundation und dem Bundesamt für Kultur.