Debi Cornwall

Winner of the Prix Elysée 2023
30.06 – 01.10.2023

Debi Cornwall (United States, 1973), winner of the Prix Elysée 2023, one of the most prestigious photography prizes in the world, presents Model Citizens. In this series, which is still in progress, she explores how staging, performance and role-playing feed into the idea of citizenship in our Western societies. The photographic medium becomes here a tool for political analysis.

Model Citizens

Selected among the eight nominated projects of the Prix Elysée 2023, "Debi Cornwall's work is in line with current events", underlines the jury, "and is an important contribution that is timely, given the effect of fake news in our societies. Throught her research, the artist questions the blurred line between truth and fiction. The project, which is both a political and intellectual commitment, points to the urgency and necessity of questioning photography as a proof. The impact of fake news is not limited to the United States – the artist is telling a local story that talks about global issues. We are convinced that with the Prix Elysée, Debi Cornwall will reach a new and wider audience and that the prize will help increase her visibility in Europe."

Video

"How do we make sense of life in a violent country? How do performances and fictions and playing roles help us either make sense of our violent culture or justify the violence or distract ourselves from it?"

Career path

Debi Cornwall is an American conceptual documentary artist who has focused on her career as an artist since 2014 after practicing for twelve years as a civil rights attorney. Employing absurdity and dark humor, she excavates invisible systems by layering still and moving images with testimony and archival material. Her books Welcome to Camp America : Inside Guantánamo Bay and Necessary Fictions (Radius Book, 2017 and 2020) have received numerous awards.

"After a career in civil-rights law, I came back to photography looking to illuminate hidden truths. My work seeks to understand and illuminate these powerful political, corporate, and social forces. Photographs can be evidence, yes, but evidence of what? My project, Model Citizens, examines the staging of reality and the performance of citizenship in the United States, a militarized country whose citizens cannot agree on what is true. Now I'm casting a wider net, making photographs more elliptically related to my topic, from institutional staging and roleplay to the performances we play out communally, consciously or not."

Exhibition views

Prix Elysée

Offering support and financial means to photographers is as important as preserving their art for future generations. It is in a shared commitment to foster creativity and support the production of new work that Photo Elysée and Parmigiani Fleurier have been founding partners of the Prix Elysée since 2014.

Partners

The Prix Elysée is the result of an exclusive partnership between Photo Elysée and Parmigiani Fleurier.

Debi Cornwall

Gewinnerin des Prix Elysée 2023
30.06 – 01.10.2023

Debi Cornwall (Vereinigte Staaten, 1973), Gewinnerin des Prix Elysée 2023, eines der renommiertesten Fotopreise der Welt, präsentiert Model Citizens [Musterbürger]. In dieser Serie, die noch in Arbeit ist, untersucht sie, wie Inszenierung, Performance und Rollenspiel die Idee der Staatsbürgerschaft in unseren westlichen Gesellschaften beeinflussen. Das fotografische Medium wird hier zu einem Instrument der politischen Analyse.

Musterbürger

Debi Cornwall wurde unter den acht Nominierten des Prix Elysée 2023 ausgewählt, weil ihre "Arbeit einen starken Gegenwartsbezug hat", wie die Jury befand, "und einen wichtigen Beitrag zu einer vom Gesellschaftsphänomen der 'Fake News' bestimmten Zeit darstellt. Die Künstlerin setzt sich mit der fliessenden Grenze zwischen Wahrheit und Fiktion auseinander. Das politisch wie intellektuell engagierte Projekt unterstreicht, wie dringend und notwendig wir den Beweischarakter der Fotografie in Frage stellen müssen. Die Auswirkungen der 'Fake News' betreffen nicht nur die USA – die Künstlerin erzählt eine lokale Geschichte, in der es um globale Probleme geht. Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass Debi Cornwall mit dem Prix Elysée ein neues, breiteres Publikum erreichen wird und der Preis ihr in Europa zu grösserer Sichtbarkeit verhelfen wird."

Video

Karriereweg

Die konzeptuell-dokumentarisch arbeitende Künstlerin Debi Cornwall widmet sich ihrer kreativen Karriere seit 2014. Zuvor war sie zwölf Jahre lang als Anwältin für Zivilrecht tätig. Mit Blick für das Absurde und schwarzem Humor durchleuchtet sie unsichtbare Systeme, indem sie stille oder auch bewegte Bilder über Zeitzeugenberichte und Archivmaterial legt. Ihre vorherigen Publikationen Welcome to Camp America: Inside Guantánamo Bay und Necessary Fictions (Radius Book, 2017 und 2020) wurden mehrfach ausgezeichnet.

"Nach einer Karriere im Zivilrecht bin ich zur Fotografie zurückgekehrt, weil es mir darauf ankommt, verdeckte Wahrheiten ans Licht zu bringen. In meiner Arbeit versuche ich, die unfassbare Macht von Politik, Unternehmen und Gesellschaft zu begreifen. Die Fotografie kann als Beweis dienen, aber als Beweis wofür? Mein Projekt Model Citizens [Musterbürger] untersucht, wie in den USA – einem hochgerüsteten Land, dessen Bürger*innen sich nicht darauf einigen können, was wahr ist – die Wirklichkeit wie auch die Bürgerschaft als darstellerische Leistung in Szene gesetzt werden. Momentan verfolge ich einen noch breiter gefassten Ansatz und kreise mein Thema, also die Inszenierung und die Rollenspiele von Institutionen oder auch die darstellerische Leistung, die wir alle bewusst oder unbewusst abliefern, elliptisch ein."

Ausstellungsansichten

Prix Elysée

Der Prix Elysée bietet bereits etablierten Fotograf*innen eine Beratung von Museumsseite und finanzielle Hilfe. In einem gemeinsamem Engagement haben sich Photo Elysée und Parmigiani Fleurier zusammengeschlossen, um mit diesem Preis Kreativität und die Entwicklung neuer Werke zu fördern.

Partner

Der Prix Elysée ist das Ergebnis einer exklusiven Partnerschaft zwischen Photo Elysée und Parmigiani Fleurier.