Daido Moriyama

A Retrospective
06.09.2024 – 12.01.2025

Photo Elysée is presenting a major exhibition devoted to one of Japan’s greatest photographers. This retrospective, produced by the Instituto Moreira Salles (Sao Paulo, Brazil), will be making a stopover in Switzerland after showing in Berlin and London. 

During the sixty years of his career, Daido Moriyama (born in Osaka in 1938) definitively altered our perception of photography. He used his camera to document his immediate surroundings and to visually explore post-war society in Japan. But he also challenged the very nature of photography itself.  

His incomparable visual language is as highly acclaimed as his numerous publications, which are at the heart of his work. 

Right from the start, viewers have been captivated by Moriyama’s photographic subjects, from the mass media and advertising to society's taboos and the theatricality of everyday life. He captured the clash between Japanese tradition and the accelerated westernisation that followed the US military occupation of Japan after the end of the Second World War. Inspired by American artists such as Andy Warhol and William Klein, the photographer brought Japan's nascent consumer society to life. He explored the reproducibility of images, their dissemination and their consumption. Moriyama repeatedly positioned his archive of images in new contexts, playing with enlargements, cropping and image resolution. Even today, his pioneering artistic spirit and visual intensity remain innovative.

Daido Moriyama

Eine Retrospektive
06.09.2024 – 12.01.2025

Photo Elysée präsentiert eine umfassende Ausstellung, die einem der bekanntesten japanischen Fotografen gewidmet ist. Die vom Instituto Moreira Salles (Sao Paolo, Brasilien) organisierte Retrospektive macht nach Berlin und London nun auch in der Schweiz Halt. 

Daido Moriyama (geb. 1938 in Osaka) hat im Laufe seiner 60-jährigen Karriere die Art und Weise, wie wir Fotografie sehen, massgeblich verändert. Mit seiner Kamera hat er nicht nur seine direkte Umgebung dokumentiert und eine visuelle Gesellschaftsanalyse des Japans der Nachkriegszeit geschaffen, er hat auch das fotografische Medium an sich hinterfragt.  

Seine unvergleichliche Bildsprache erfährt ebenso viel Anerkennung wie seine zahlreichen Publikationen, die in seinem Werk einen zentralen Stellenwert einnehmen.  

Daido Moriyamas fotografische Themen haben Betrachter:innen seit jeher in ihren Bann gezogen, egal ob es sich um Massenmedien und Werbung, gesellschaftliche Tabus oder die Theatralik des Alltags handelt. Er hat das Aufeinanderprallen von japanischer Tradition und beschleunigter Verwestlichung festgehalten, das auf die amerikanische Militärbesetzung Japans nach dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs folgte. Inspiriert durch US-amerikanische Künstler wie Andy Warhol oder William Klein hat der Fotograf die aufkommende japanische Konsumgesellschaft lebendig werden lassen und sich mit der Reproduzierbarkeit von Bildern, ihrer Verbreitung und ihrem Konsum beschäftigt. Immer wieder hat Moriyama auch sein eigenes Bildarchiv in neue Kontexte gesetzt und mit Vergröerungen, Ausschnitten und der Bildauflösung experimentiert. Bis heute gelten sein künstlerischer Pioniergeist und seine visuelle Intensität als wegweisend und innovativ.