Monique Jacot

The figure and its doubles
28.09 – 11.11.2022 UBS Hall, Place St-François 16, Lausanne

Monique Jacot (1934) is today considered one of the most important Swiss photographers. After completing her studies at the École des arts et métiers in Vevey, Jacot began a career in the press as a photojournalist. Her work has been published widely in Swiss and international publications including Camera, Die Woche, Du, Elle, Geo, Schweizer Illustrierte, Stern and Vogue.

Throughout her career, Monique Jacot has explored different photographic genres. Although known for her photographs taken across the world, she has also meticulously documented aspects of Swiss life, particularly those linked to the female condition. Parallel to her photojournalism, Jacot has produced a large body of work that reflects her artistic research. In recognition of her lifelong contribution to the visual arts, she received the Swiss Grand Award for Design in 2020.

The photographs presented in this exhibition reveal the way the photographer plays with the figure and its doubles. By means of montage and various mirroring effects, Jacot lends her works a poetic, almost dreamlike esthetic. In her photojournalism, she draws parallels between several figures, which can reveal a social commentary at the heart of her images.

Practical information
From September 28 to November 11, 2022
Opening on September 27, 2022 at 6pm
From Monday to Friday, from 9am to 5pm
UBS Hall, Place St-François 16, Lausanne
Free entrance

Partners

The exhibition Monique Jacot. The figure and its doubles is part of UBS support to Photo Elysée.

Monique Jacot

Die Gestalt und ihre Vervielfachung
28.09 – 11.11.2022 UBS-Halle, Place St-François 16, Lausanne

Monique Jacot (1934) zählt zu den bedeutendsten Schweizer Fotografinnen. Nach ihrem Studium an der Hochschule École des arts et métiers in Vevey macht sie sich als Fotojournalistin sehr schnell einen Namen. Dabei erstellt sie zahlreiche Reportagen, die in Zeitschriften in der Schweiz, aber auch im Ausland veröffentlicht werden (z.B. Camera, Die Woche, Du, Elle, Geo, Schweizer Illustrierte, Stern und Vogue).

Ihre ganze Karriere hindurch hat Monique Jacot verschiedene fotografische Genres erkundet. Dank ihrer zahlreichen Reisen wurde sie für ihre Fotografien aus der ganzen Welt berühmt, aber auch dafür, dass sie gewisse Aspekte des Lebens in der Schweiz sehr tiefgründig dokumentiert, insbesondere jene, welche die Stellung der Frauen betreffen. Neben ihren Fotoreportagen erstellt Jacot zahlreiche Werkreihen, die ihre künstlerischen Forschungsinteressen aufzeigen. Im Jahre 2020 wurde sie für ihren grossen Beitrag im Bereich der Bildenden Kunst mit dem Schweizer Grand Prix Design gewürdigt.

Die in dieser Ausstellung präsentierten Fotografien offenbaren, wie die Fotografin mit der Gestalt und ihren Vervielfachungen spielt. Durch Montagen und verschiedenen Spiegelspielen verleiht sie ihren Werken eine poetische, fast traumhafte Ästhetik. In ihrer fotojournalistischen Arbeit stellt Jacot mehrere Figuren nebeneinander, welche somit vermögen einen sozialkritischen Kommentar im Innersten ihrer Bilder zu offenbaren.

Praktische Informationen
Vom 28. September bis zum 11. November 2022
Vernissage am 27. September 2022 um 18 Uhr.
Montag bis Freitag, von 9 bis 17 Uhr.
UBS-Halle, Place St-François 16, Lausanne
Freier Eintritt

Partner

Die Ausstellung Monique Jacot. Die Gestalt und ihre Vervielfachung ist Teil der Unterstützung von Photo Elysée durch UBS.